Class of 2018 – 40 Under 40

Class of 2018

Class of 2018 young lighting design talent is named


the 40under40 receive their awards

A new generation of young lighting designers has been named today following a global search.

The individuals making up the annual 40under40 – an international programme to identify the most talented and promising individuals working in the lighting design industry – have been named.

The 22 men and 18 women – selected from over 350 applications – hail from 12 different countries, including the UAE, Turkey, India, China, Brazil, the US, Germany, Italy, Singapore and Sweden.

The designers will receive their trophies before keynote speaker architect James Carpenter at the prestigious Lighting Design Awards ceremony on Thursday 5 May at the London Hilton Park Lane.

‘The achievements of these outstanding young people – be they creative, academic or philanthropic – are phenomenal and the selection panel were incredibly impressed,’ said Ray Molony, chairman of the 40under40 international selection panel. ‘This year’s cohort are truly outstanding and it is set to make a huge contribution. This industry is in safe hands for the future’.

The 40under40 – in association with the global lighting brand Osram – was founded in 2016 to celebrate 40 years of the Lighting Design Awards and to create a mechanism so that the lighting industry could recognise and celebrate its emerging talent.

The 2018 selectors are Suzanne Tillotson, founder of Tillotson Design Associates and current Lighting Designer of the Year; Kai Piippo, head of design at ÅF Lighting; Jill Entwistle, editor, Lighting magazine; Jason Vaughan, head of lighting solutions UK at Osram and Ray Molony, publisher, Lighting magazine.

The official 40under40 2018

Nicola Agresta – Inverse Lighting Design | London
Pavlina Akritas – Arup | London
Nick Albert – Illuminate Lighting Design | California
Brian Belluomini – Shimstone Design Studio | New York
Galen Burrell – Arup | San Francisco
Iain Carlile – dpa lighting consultants | London
Mariana de Novaes Reis – Atiaîa Design | Brazil
Tejas Doshi – Light & Beyond | Kolkata
Erin Dreyfous – Tillotson Design Associates | New York
Nicolas Dufils – L’Observatoire International | New York
Fanny Englund – ÅF Lighting | Stockholm
Federico Favero – KTH Lighting Design department | Stockholm
Rachel Fitzgerald – Stantec | Denver
Shigeki Fujii – Nipek | Singapore
Helena Gentili – Helena Gentili Lighting Design | Milan
Meike Goessling -Lichtvision Design | Hong Kong
Jeff Hoenig – Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design | New York
Trevor Hollins – HDR | Nebraska
Guojian Hu – Shanghai Ruiyi Design | Shanghai
John Jacobsen – Schuler Shook | Chicago
Shan Jiang – Tillotson Design Associates | New York
Reiko Komiyama Kagawa – Sladen Feinstein Integrated Lighting | Boston
Kera Lagios – Integral Group | California
Melvyn Law – Limelight Atelier | Singapore
Michael Lindsey – Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design | Denver
Dan Lister – Arup | Sheffield
Stacie M.Dinwiddy – KGM Architectural Lighting | New York
Amaia Puras-Ustarroz – Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design | Los Angeles
Philip Rafael – The Flaming Beacon | Berlin
Linda Salamoun – Steensen Varming | London
Louise Santiago – dpa lighting consultants | Dubai
Bradley Sisenwain – Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design | New York
Neha Sivaprasad – Illuminate Lighting Design | California
Craig Spring – Luminosity | Colorado
Chrysanthi Stockwell – HGA Architects and Engineers | Minnesota
Brandon Thrasher – Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design | San Francisco
Faruk Uyan – LAB.1 Lighting Design | Istanbul
Isabel Villar – White Arkitekter | Stockholm
Dan Weissman – Lam Partners | Boston
Kevin Womack – Arup | New York

The 40under40 presentations take place at the prestigious Lighting Design Awards 2018 ceremony on Thursday 3 May 2018 at the London Hilton Park Lane. To book your place and for more information on the event, visit