REVEALED: North America’s top 40 young lighting designers – 40Under40 North America


MARCH 12, 2018


REVEALED: North America’s top 40 young lighting designers

The names of North America’s forty most promising up-and-coming lighting designers have been revealed. 

Twenty-one women and 19 men from 31 practices make up the inaugural 40under40 class of 2018. Nominated by their principals and peers and selected by a panel of industry expert based on submissions, citations and supporting evidence, the members will receive global recognition culminating in a glamours international presentation ceremony in New York in March.

Practices in the prestigious list include Horton Lees Brogden, with no fewer than seven members and Arup with three. Also making the cut are candidates from Cline Bettridge Bernstein, Auerbach Glasow, Tillotson Design Associates, L’Observatoire International, Office for Visual Interaction, Schuler Shook, Cline Bettridge Bernstein, Focus Lighting, Lam Partners, HGA Architects and Engineers,, WSP and KGM Architectural Lighting.

Fourteen are based in traditional centre of lighting design in New York with six in San Francisco and the rest spread across the country. 

‘We received an overwhelming response from the profession,’ said Ray Molony, chairman of the selectors committee. ‘We had over 120 young professionals from across the USA, Canada and Mexico nominated and the calibre of nominees was incredibly high. The selection team was looking for achievement above and beyond normal professional practice, with an emphasis on extracurricular achievement and efforts to build and support the profession and its development.

‘Anyone who made it though to the final 40 can be deservedly proud of themselves.’

The 40under40 members will receive their awards at a glamorous presentation ceremony which is set to be the highlight of LEDucation week in New York. 

The event takes place on Monday 12 March 2018 at the exclusive Estrella Penthouse at Parker Hotel with unrivalled views of Central Park. 

It’s supported by LEDucation, Lighting magazine, The New School at Parsons and PennWell’s media brands in the LED and Lighting Network.

Lighting editor Jill Entwistle arrives from London to host the ceremony, which includes a keynote address by the current international Lighting Designer of the Year, Suzan Tillotson of Tillotson Design Associates. 

The class of 2018 will also feature in a special 40under40 supplement in a special commemorative ssue of Lighting magazine.

  • The 40under40 presentation ceremony and evening represents an unmissable networking and hospitality opportunity. For more information and to ensure your place, click HERE.

The 40under40 list in full:
Amaia Puras-Ustarroz, Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design, Los Angeles
Azusa Yabe, Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design, Los Angeles
Bradley Sisenwain, Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design , New York
Brandon Kuehler, Light It Right, Houston
Brandon Thrasher, Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design, San Francisco
Chrysanthi Stockwell, HGA Architects and Engineers, Minneapolis
Craig Spring, Luminosity Architectural Lighting Design, Telluride, Colorado
Dan Weissman, Lam Partners, Cambridge, Massachusetts
Erin Dreyfous, Tillotson Design Associates, New York
Francesca Bastianini, Sighte Studio, New York
Galen Burrell, Arup, San Francisco
Ilva Dodaj, Domingo Gonzalez Associates, New York
Jay Wratten, WSP, Boulder
Jeff Hoenig, Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design, New York
Jessica Trundy, dePelecyn studio inc, Seattle
John Jacobsen, Schuler Shook, Chicago
Juan José Acosta, Schwinghammer Lighting, New York
Katherine Stekr, Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design, Denver
Kelly Hannon, Focus Lighting, New York
Kera Lagios, Integral Group, San Francisco
Kevin Womack, Arup, New York
Maki Jung, Niteo, San Francsico
Michael Lindsey, Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design, Denver
Michael Simla, Lumenwerx, Montreal
Monica Llamas, Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design, New York
Nick Albert, Illuminate Lighting Design, Santa Monica
Nicolas Dufils, L’Observatoire International, New York
Rachel Fitzgerald, Stantec, Denver
Ramy Makhaly, Office for Visual Interaction, New York
Rochelle Spahn, The Lighting Practice, Philadelphia
Ryan Barrier, LED Bloom, Orange County
Sara McElroy, Silver Shoe Design, New York
Sara Schonour, CannonDesign, Boston
Shahrzad Abtahi, Sladen Feinstein Integrated Lighting, Boston
Simi Veit, Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design, Miami
Stacie M. Dinwiddy, KGM Architectural Lighting, New York
Star Davis, WeWork, New York
Toby Lewis, Arup, San Francisco
Trevor Hollins, HDR, Omaha
Yue Zhao, Auerbach Glasow, San Francisco